Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Patricia Cornwell Complete Book List

©2007 Kim Giancaterino. All Rights Reserved.
Patricia Cornwell Complete Book List

Patricia Cornwell Crime Scene Investigation

Crime Writer Patricia Cornwell
Patricia Cornwell is a contemporary American crime writer, a pioneer in the forensic thriller genre. Her books have sold more than 100 million copies in 36 languages in over 120 countries. Twenty-nine of her books are New York Times bestsellers.

The popular author is a descendant of abolitionist and writer Harriet Beecher Stowe. Her father, Sam Daniels, was a successful appellate lawyer who served as a law clerk to Supreme Court Justice Hugo Black.

When Patricia Cornwell introduced Postmortem in 1990, she launched one of the most eagerly anticipated series in the history of crime fiction. Her early novels were a hit with readers, well before America's obsession with crime scene investigation and forensic shows on television.

Patricia Cornwell is best known for creating the chief medical examiner character, Dr. Kay Scarpetta, for which she won the Sherlock Award for best detective created by an American. The author admits to numerous links between herself and the Scarpetta character. They are both Miami-born, divorced, and experienced difficult relationships with their fathers. Her latest Kay Scarpetta novel, Chaos, is the twenty-fourth in the series.

Patricia Cornwell reigns as America's #1 bestselling crime writer. In her books, the author occasionally pokes fun at the slick, Hollywood crime scene dramas so popular with viewers. Patricia Cornwell takes forensics seriously. She founded the Virginia Institute for Forensic Science and Medicine, and also funds scholarships to the University of Tennessee's National Forensics Academy.

Patricia Cornwell
I didn't invent forensic science and medicine. I just was one of the first people to recognize how interesting it is.

Patricia Cornwell

Patricia Cornwell Complete Book List
Kay Scarpetta Series
Body of Evidence
All That Remains
Cruel and Unusual
The Body Farm
From Potter's Field
Cause of Death
Unnatural Exposure
Point of Origin
Black Notice
The Last Precinct
Blow Fly
Book of the Dead
The Scarpetta Factor
Port Mortuary
Red Mist
The Bone Bed
Flesh and Blood
Depraved Heart

Win Garano Series
At Risk
The Front

Andy Brazil Series
Hornet's Nest
Southern Cross
Isle of Dogs

Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper--Case Closed

Ruth, A Portrait: The Story of Ruth Bell Graham

Other Works
Scarpetta's Winter Table
Life's Little Fable
Food to Die For: Secrets from Kay Scarpetta's Kitchen

Patricia Cornwell
I constantly remind people that crime isn't solved by technology; it's solved by people.

Kay Scarpetta Series
Books by #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Patricia Cornwell
Patricia Cornwell has completed 24 books in the Kay Scarpetta series. Postmortem was published in 1990. Her latest Scarpetta novel, Chaos was released in 2016.

Dr. Kay Scarpetta Series
One of my friends introduced me to the Scarpetta series many years ago, when she gave me the first three books in a set. I was hooked, and have since read them all. As with any series, it's best to read the Scarpetta books in sequence. They're definitely not for the squeamish, but are well-researched and keep readers guessing until the end.

As her millions of fans know, Dr. Kay Scarpetta is a fabulous cook, especially when it comes to Italian cuisine. Capitalizing on this, Patricia Cornwell published a cookbook, Food to Die For, featuring dishes referenced in some of her novels.

Recipes include: Miami-Style Chili with Beer (All That Remains), Grilled Grouper with Butter and Key Lime Juice (Cruel and Unusual), Jack Daniel's Chocolate Pecan Pie (The Body Farm), Lasagna with Marinara Sauce and Porcini Mushrooms (Cause of Death), Bev's Lump Crab Cakes (Unnatural Exposure), and Kay's Grilled Pizza with Sausage, Pepperoni, and Three Cheeses (Black Notice).

In another volume, Scarpetta's Winter Table, the author combines a holiday-inspired short story with more favorites from Kay Scarpetta's kitchen.

What's Cooking in Kay Scarpetta's Kitchen?
by Patricia Cornwell

Food to Die For Patricia Cornwell

Win Garano Series
In April 2010 Lifetime TV debuted two dramas based on bestselling crime writer Patricia Cornwell's novels, the first of her works to be adapted for film or television. At Risk and The Front are also available on DVD.

Bringing Patricia Cornwell's characters to life are Andie Macdowell as Monique 'Money' Lamont, Daniel Sunjata as Win Garano, Diahann Carroll as Nana, Ashley Williams as Stump, and Annabeth Gish as Sykes.

At Risk and The Front
Lifetime Original Movies on DVD

Patricia Cornwell's At Risk and The Front DVD Trailer

Andy Brazil Series
Hornet's Nest introduced a new cast of characters with Charlotte, North Carolina as the backdrop. Andy Brazil, an ambitious, young newspaper reporter, discovers the inner secrets of police work through his relationship with Police Chief Judy Hammer. Later, with Southern Cross and Isle of Dogs, the setting shifts to the state of Virginia ... first to Richmond, and later to the eccentric island of Tangier. Look for a cameo appearance by Dr. Kay Scarpetta!

Andy Brazil Series: Hornet's Nest, Southern Cross, Isle of Dogs
Three Complete Novels by Patricia Cornwell

Patricia Cornwell Andy Brazil Series

Multi-Color Fingerprint
Hand-Stretched Canvas on Wood

Nonfiction: Solving the Jack the Ripper Case
Has the notorious Jack the Ripper case finally been solved? In 2002, Patricia Cornwell outlined a theory that the London murders were committed by artist Walter Sickert.

Patricia Cornwell
When I was in second grade, my mother moved from Miami to this evangelical conservative environment in western North Carolina, two miles down the road from Billy Graham and his wife, Ruth.

Nonfiction: Books About Ruth Bell Graham
Since childhood, Patricia Cornwell has been acquainted with the family of evangelist Billy Graham. She wrote an authorized biography of Ruth Bell Graham in 1986, and has occasionally served as the Graham family's spokesperson to the media. Ruth Bell Graham recognized young Patricia Cornwell's talent for writing and encouraged her literary efforts.

Footprints of a Pilgrim - Remembering Ruth Bell Graham

Sherlock Holmes
Art Poster
Patricia Cornwell Crime Writing Awards
With millions of fans and more than two dozen New York Times bestsellers to her credit, Patricia Cornwell has won nearly every literary award for popular fiction. Here are a few highlights:
  • Postmortem was the only novel to win the Edgar, Creasey, Anthony, and Macavity awards, as well as the French Prix du Roman d'Aventure in a single year!

  • Cruel and Unusual won Britain's prestigious Gold Dagger Award for the best crime novel of 1993.

  • The author's fictional chief medical examiner, Dr. Kay Scarpetta, won the 1999 Sherlock Award for best detective created by an American author.

Patricia Cornwell
Survival was my only hope, success my only revenge.

Other Works
Life's Little Fable
Written by Patricia Cornwell, Illustrated by Barbara Leonard Gibson

Crime scene photograph by geralt
Pizza photograph by Maialisa
Charlotte, North Carolina photograph by asmarquiz