Monday, April 9, 2018

Sue Grafton Book List

©2007 Kim Giancaterino. All Rights Reserved.
Sue Grafton Book List

Mystery Writer Sue Grafton
A bitter divorce and custody battle led Sue Grafton to fantasize about ways to eliminate her former husband. Thankfully, she found a way to constructively express her feelings through writing.

A is for Alibi was released in 1982, introducing a chronological set of mystery novels known as the alphabet series. Sue Grafton's stories are written from the perspective of female private investigator Kinsey Millhone, who lives in the fictional coastal town of Santa Teresa, California. The stories are set in the 1980s and don't necessarily need to be read in order.

The award-winning mystery writer completed twenty-five books in the series, ending with Y is for Yesterday. Millions of fans throughout the world were saddened to learn of her passing in December 2017. Sue Grafton had intended to call the final installment Z is for Zero, but it was not meant to be.

Are you familiar with Sue Grafton's book titles? Take the Sue Grafton Mystery Series Quiz.

Sue Grafton
If high heels were so wonderful, men would be wearing them.

The Gashlycrumb Tinies
Edward Gorey Framed Art Print

Inspired by Edward Gorey (1925-2000)
Long fascinated by mysteries with related titles, Sue Grafton was inspired by Edward Gorey's The Gashlycrumb Tinies, an alphabetical picture book in which children meet their demise through a variety of nefarious circumstances. For example:

A is for Amy who fell down the stairs, B is for Basil assaulted by bears ...

She decided to create her own series of novels based on the alphabet, and compiled a list of all the crime-related words she could come up with. The resulting novels became her best known works.

The Gashlycrumb Tinies
by Edward Gorey

Sue Grafton
I don't want to write formula. I don't want to crank these books out like sausages. Every book is different, which takes a hell of a lot of ingenuity on my part.

Kinsey Millhone Mysteries
A is for Alibi
B is for Burglar
C is for Corpse
D is for Deadbeat
E is for Evidence
F is for Fugitive
G is for Gumshoe
H is for Homicide
I is for Innocent
J is for Judgment
K is for Killer
L is for Lawless
M is for Malice
N is for Noose
O is for Outlaw
P is for Peril
Q is for Quarry
R is for Ricochet
S is for Silence
T is for Trespass
U is for Undertow
V is for Vengeance
W is for Wasted
Y is for Yesterday

Since 1982, when A is for Alibi was published, 32-year-old private investigator Kinsey Millhone has only aged six years. Her world in the fictional beachside town of Santa Teresa, California does not include Starbucks, cell phones, Facebook, or for that matter, the Internet.

Books by Sue Grafton
I love Sue Grafton's omnibus editions. This collection of her first three Kinsey Millhone novels was given to me by a friend, and I was immediately hooked. At the time, Sue Grafton was about halfway through the alphabet, so I jumped on eBay to bid on all her other books. Then I joined the millions of fans who anxiously awaited each new release.

Sue Grafton Interview
Stephanie Klose, RT Book Reviews

Alphabet font graphic by steinchen